The Journey
About Scotland
Scotland's Roads
Scotland's Canals
Scotland's Railways
Cycle Routes
Facebook Group

Scotland's Railways

Intercity Lines:

  • Edinburgh to Aberdeen Line
  • Glasgow-Edinburgh via Falkirk Line
  • Glasgow to Aberdeen Line
  • Highland Main Line
  • Aberdeen-Inverness Line

From Edinburgh:

  • Borders Railway - Edinburgh Waverley to Tweedbank
  • Carstairs Line
  • Dunblane Line
  • Fife Circle Line
  • North Berwick Line
  • North Clyde Line
  • Shotts Line

From Glasgow:

  • Argyle Line
  • Ayrshire Coast Line
  • Carstairs Line
  • Cathcart Circle Lines
  • Croy Line
  • Cumbernauld Line
  • Inverclyde Line
  • Maryhill Line
  • Motherwell-Cumbernauld Line
  • North Clyde Line
  • Paisley Canal Line
  • Shotts Line
  • South Western Lines - from Glasgow to Kilmarnock with branches from there to Carlisle (via Dumfries) and Stranraer (via Ayr) and a further branch to East Kilbride from Pollockshaws West
  • Whifflet Line

Other Routes:

  • Far North Line - Inverness to Wick
  • Kyle of Lochalsh Line - Dingwall to Kyle of Lochalsh
  • West Highland Line - from Glasgow to Crianlarich with branches from there to Mallaig (via Fort William) and Oban

ScotRail - Scotland's Railway

Scotland Books

Copyright Scotland from the Roadside 2016